Best Attorney
in Peoria!!!

How child support cases are classified

On Behalf of | Aug 13, 2018 | Divorce

Child support cases in Arizona and throughout the country have four different designations. They are labeled as IV-D, IV-A, IV-E and non-IV-D. A case may have several designations over time as the needs and circumstances of the parent and child evolve. A case that has an IV-D designation means that a custodial parent is receiving assistance from the Office of Child Support Enforcement. This may include help tracking the parent down or getting a child support order established.

Cases that have a non-IV-D designation generally involve parents who have a private agreement following a divorce. They can regain an IV-D designation if a parent fails to make payments or otherwise owes back support. If a case is labeled as an IV-E case, it means that a child is in the care of someone such as a grandparent or is part of the foster care system. The OSCE will automatically attempt to obtain money from the non-custodial parent.

The same is true in an IV-A case because the custodial parent is on public assistance. Any money obtained from the non-custodial parent will be used to offset the cost of providing such assistance. If parents have any questions about their case, they are encouraged to talk with their attorneys.

When a child’s parents are no longer together, one must generally provide child support to the other. The amount of support that must be provided generally depends on a variety of factors such as how much a parent makes or how many other children a noncustodial parent must provide for. An attorney may be able to assist a custodial parent in his or her quest for any support he or she is owed. Legal counsel may also assist those looking for help modifying a support order.

FindLaw Network